go here Ireland – central Dublin
Royal Irish Automobile Club
34 Dawson Street
buying cipro online www.riac.ie
The Royal Irish Automobile Club (RIAC) is a private members’ club, situated in central Dublin. The club provides the most up-to-date facilities combined with classical and historic surroundings, offering a unique environment in which members can relax with their guests. It has what is claimed to be the finest motoring history archive in Ireland – the Guinness Seagrave Library.
The Irish Automobile Club, as it was first known, was formed at a meeting on 22 January, 1901, and is one of the oldest motor clubs in the world. Set up to further and promote the interests of the automobile in Ireland, its first general meeting took place in the Metropole Hotel in Sackville Street (now O’Connell Street), Dublin on 12 March, 1901. The RIAC’s current clubhouse in Dawson Street also saw the formation of the Irish Aero Club in 1909.
The club was awarded the ‘Royal’ prefix to its title in recognition of the humanitarian work carried out by its members during the Great War when many Irish men, returning injured from the front, were transported to convalescent homes on members’ vehicles that were converted into ambulances for this purpose.
The club has two restaurants, a bar, members’ reading room, and meeting rooms. The meeting rooms are available for business or for private functions and in-house catering is available. The club has 140 secure parking spaces, a stone’s throw from St Stephen’s Green and secure supervised parking is available 24 hours a day, 365 days of the year.